The photographer’s story: Meet Kelvin Bulluck

When I started “Static Stories” I created a mindmap of some of the things I wanted to do with the blog. One of them was to gather stories from photographers whether pro or amateur.The photographer is usually the one who’s trying to capture and tell the story of his subject, but the psychologist in me is very curious about the story of the photographer. If there are rules in photography, why do two photographers capture one scene/subject differently?So, to kick start this project I asked Kelvin Bulluck to write and share his story. And being a generous, determined and talented person, Kelvin said yes.
“My name is Kelvin Bulluck and I am a portrait photographer based in Baltimore, MD.  I also photograph landscapes and events but I absolutely love photographing people.  The challenge of getting someone to open up so I can capture the essence of who they truly are is a rewarding process and yields something new with each person that I have in front of my camera.  I suppose this is the case because everyone has their own story to tell.

Innocent Child_kelbpics

The story of how I became a photographer began when I was a child.  I would see a scene before my eyes and think to myself, “this would be a nice picture.”  Unfortunately, at that time, I did not have the tools or resources available to nurture my photographic visions.  Time went on and I began to explore other creative outlets, such as drawing, writing short stories, playing guitar and even performing spoken word poetry.  These all brought me some level of fulfillment but then, in 2010, I received a camera for Christmas and my true passion was ignited.

Sack Race_kelbpics

The camera was a little point-and-shoot by Canon, the Power Shot SX130 IS to be exact, but it was everything I needed to begin my exploration into photography.  I began taking walks & photographing any and everything. Then a friend of mine had a birthday party & I asked if I could bring my camera and take pictures of the event.  It was at this party that I realized that I liked taking photos of people.  Being able to freeze moments of joy really impacted me in a positive way.

IMG_8675-1mm

From there I really got the urge to improve.  I started looking at work from pro photographers and I wondered why my photos didn’t look like theirs.  This prompted me to begin researching photography techniques.  I started reading books, watching videos, attending workshops and my education has been ongoing ever since.  I even found someone to be my mentor.

It’s been a really great process because it has allowed me to meet and work with some really awesome people.  My camera has been a “pass” into worlds that I would have otherwise been denied access to and has opened me up to a number of experiences that continue to impact my life.  I encourage anyone who is the least bit interested in picking up a camera to explore the possibilities that it presents.  You never know, it might just give you another story to tell. “

These are some of Kelvin’s great photos. I suggest you check his blog – “Photography According to Kel” to know more about his portraits and the great challenges he set for himself for 2014.

3 thoughts on “The photographer’s story: Meet Kelvin Bulluck

  1. kelbpics says:

    Thank you Nadia, for allowing me to tell my story, I was flattered that you even considered me 🙂 I look forward to your next installment in this series.

  2. nfrodrigues says:

    Kelvin, thank you so much for your time and support. Now that it’s posted I realized it adds a lot of quality to the blog. 🙂
    I’m also excited about the next story, I already have someone in mind.

Leave a Reply

