So, how did you get into photography?

When I was at University a flyer came to my hands that there was a photography exhibition in the town where I was studying. It was named “Um Silêncio Interior: os retratos de Henri Cartier- Bresson” – in english: “An Inner Silence: the portraits of Henri Cartier-Bresson” and it featured around one hundred photos taken between 1931 and 1999 in Europe and in the USA.

With nothing better to do me and an old time friend decided to go take a look. And it was marvelous, I was delighted at the ability of this one man to capture and freeze in time stories and emotions. The photos were black and white but he didn’t need color to allow us to travel to that moment or to introduce us that person he was photographing.

The name Cartier-Bresson remained in my head for the coming months. He inspired me to pick up my cheap digital camera and go out and shoot.

But I sucked. My photos were terrible (well, they still are)  and it didn’t take much for my friends to make fun of them (of me). So I put my beloved camera back in the drawer and accepted that I had no talent.

Nonetheless, Cartier-Bresson and his portraits became eternal in my memories and it still remains a goal of mine to capture spontaneity and authenticity as well as he did. I know, that’s way too ambitious, but we must have somewhere to run to.

In 2012, I joined a mastermind group after attending a personal development course. We had to share our dreams and turn them into goals with deadlines and a step by step plan. Photography showed up in my brainstorming session and my group pushed me to gain confidence, upgrade to a DSLR and start shooting again no matter the results.

What about you? What/who got you started? What motivates you to keep going?

2 thoughts on “So, how did you get into photography?

  1. kelbpics says:

    Hi Nadia, great post. Henri’s work is definitely amazing & he had a way of composing stories in two-dimensional format. Thanks for sharing your photography story & I think it’s great that you are a part of a mastermind group, I just organized one & we’re having our 1st meeting this month. Having someone hold you accountable is a great way to expand your horizons 🙂 Lastly, from what I’ve seen, you’re photos don’t suck!

  2. nfrodrigues says:

    Hello Kelvin. It’s always good to hear (read) from you. I think you’ll enjoy the experience of joining a mastermind group: it will make you achieve something, whether it’s by boosting your confidence and making you believe it’s possible or by making you responsible for your own actions. Plus, you don’t want to go to your next meeting empty handed, you want to have some progress to share. About the photos, I know they can be a lot better, but I’m learning and I’m enjoying the process. Anyway, it’s good to have some kind words, so thank you! 😉

Leave a Reply

